RankynPhyle.com

…just another face in the crowd.

Meat the Family

Posted by Rankyn Phyle on 2015 Nov 18

First, some background:

My father was a butcher, as was his father.
One of my brothers went on to be one as well.
When I was about 5 years old, my father shut down the family business which was a meat market located on the land behind my grandmother’s house.

The buildings remained for many years afterward and, though I have very few memories of the place actually in operation, I grew up playing in the buildings which were just glorified storage buildings by that time.
My mother was a banker, and as such, did most of the accounting for the business.
Needless to say, she also learned a few things about meat over the years.

Anyway, I told you that to tell you this…

As I’m mooching lunch off of my mother today, she proceeds to tell me about a cut of meat she’s found at one of the local grocery stores that, while it isn’t as good as what she normally uses to make chicken fried steak, it’s good enough and a little cheaper.

I sit there and listen, pretending to be interested because free food, but she can see that my eyes have glazed over and I really don’t care about whatever she’s going on about.

Mom: I’m so happy that I finally know about something that you don’t.
Me: Well, if I ever get a meat-powered computer, I’m coming to you to let you fix it.

Also, the chicken fried steak was excellent.

Leave a Reply

 
