RankynPhyle.com

…just another face in the crowd.

I’m a Genuinely Terrible Mayor

Posted by Rankyn Phyle on 2015 Mar 20

No matter what I try to do to improve the lives of my citizens in Cities Skylines, I seem to make something worse.

I tried to build new roads to alleviate traffic but they all just shifted over to this new road because it was a more direct route and it immediately became a giant parking lot.

So I made parts of it 1-way to divert some of the traffic and they practically stopped using it.

Now I’ve got garbage trucks backed up for miles and a sudden spike in the mortality rate means that the hearses can’t get to the dead bodies fast enough which is causing a health crisis.

Then, to make matters worse, a link in my power chain went down which caused my suburb across the highway to suffer brownouts right about the time the pollution from a designated polluting zone grew large enough that it started contaminating my drinking water causing more sickness and death.

I was using this first city as sort of a ‘sandbox’ to see how everything works without the pressures of a budget, but I’m about to the point of just starting completely over so I could at least untangle my bus routes.

Leave a Reply

 
