RankynPhyle.com

…just another face in the crowd.

Snidely Whiplash, Imperial Agent

Posted by Rankyn Phyle on 2012 Apr 14

Now that patch 1.2 is out for The Old Republic, I’ve decided to get serious about playing the alt game since there are Legacy benefits to be gained.

I’ve been kind of bored with the game for about a month because I knew what was coming but I didn’t want to start new characters until I could see how the Legacy system would work since that might influence my decisions.

So there wasn’t anything to do but think about my alt strategy while I waited for the update.
One of the things I want to do is flip my “Evil Jedi” character concept and make a “Compassionate Sith” character.

This may prove more difficult than I thought.

It’s pretty easy to play evil on the Republic side because your conversation options are pretty straight forward:
1) I’ll do it because it’s the right thing to do.
2) Pay me and I’ll do it.
3) I’ll do it when I’m done setting this box of kittens on fire.

The waters are considerably muddier on the Sith side.
I mean, is the “true Sith” answer the ‘good’ one or the ‘evil’ one and is the evil one #1 or #3?
1) I’ll go kill the villagers and end their suffering.
2) I expect to be paid for killing the villagers.
3) I’ll go kill the villagers and set their kittens on fire.

It’s really hard to approach playing an Imperial character because the game has defined you as evil.
There’s no “we are the good guys from our point of view” thing happening here… if you’re part of the Sith Empire, there’s really no doubt that you’re a dick.
The best you can hope for is to occasionally be given an option that doesn’t require you to be as much of a dick.

Now, I’m not saying this is inherently wrong or bad design.
It’s really quite liberating to be a complete and total scumbag and be rewarded for it.
In fact, I’m quite sure that’s the allure of it for many, many gamers.

As for me, it sort of plays as comically evil.
I feel a little bit like one of those “evil dictators” who says things so outrageous that you have to think that there’s no way they could honestly believe that we believe what they’re saying and yet they keep saying it anyway.
I just really wish the character creation options had let me pick a handlebar mustache that I could twirl as I showed up in the middle of winter to foreclose on the orphanarium.

2 Responses to “Snidely Whiplash, Imperial Agent”

  1. MMORPG said

    MMORPG…

    […]Snidely Whiplash, Imperial Agent « RankynPhyle.com[…]…

  2. […] [Image via rankynphyle] […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

